Leamington Football Club ~ pride in our past
Home | Overview | Seasons |Official LFC site | Close Window

Season 2005-6 : what a cup year!

Polymac Services Midland Football Alliance: 5th of 22
Midland Football Alliance League Cup: Runners up
Moldwell Products MFA Team of the Month: August 2005

FA Cup: First Round Proper
FA Vase: Fourth Round

Image from FA Cup First Round Proper match at Colchester United

Brakes' celebrate in style after scoring a superb consolation goal
in the FA Cup First Round defeat at Colchester United FC


Results

Comp
Date
Opposition Venue Score Scorers Crowd
MFA
Sat 13 Aug 2005
Boldmere St Michaels A 3-2 R Adams, Blake, Usher 162
MFA
Tue 16 Aug
Studley H 3-0 Morgan, Blake, R Adams 602
MFA
Sat 20 Aug
Rocester H 4-0 Blake, Smith, Rodman, Howell 457
MFA
Tue 23 Aug
Stratford Town A 3-1 J Adams (2), R Adams 562
FAC P
Sat 27 Aug
Sutton Town H 0-0 538
FAC PR
Tue 30 Aug
Sutton Town A 2-2
9P-8P
J Adams, Blake
 
205
MFA
Sat 3 Sep
Oldbury United A 1-4 Howell 137
MFA
Tue 6 Sep
Oadby Town H 1-0 R Adams 462
FAC Q1
Sat 10 Sep
Kidsgrove Athletic A 1-0 Morgan 429
MFA
Tue 13 Sep
Causeway United H 3-1 R Adams, Morgan, Howell 410
FAV Q1
Sat 17 Sep
Studley A 1-0 R Adams 230
MFA
Tue 20 Sep
Cradley Town A 4-0 R Adams (2), J Adams, Usher 135
FAC Q2
Sat 24 Sep
Oadby Town H 2-2 Blake, Morgan 861
FAC Q2R
Tue 27 Sep
Oadby Town A 1-1
4P-2P
J Adams
 
356
MFA
Sat 1 Oct
Coalville Town A 0-1 286
FAC Q3
Sat 8 Oct
Woodford United H 2-0 Rodman (2) 1,027
BSC 2
Tue 11 Oct
Oldbury United H 3-2 M Thompson (2), J Adams 278
MFA
Sat 15 Oct
Tipton Town A 2-2 Gregory, M Thompson 213
TAM
Tue 18 Oct
Coventry Sphinx H 5-1 Eden, Howell (3), J Adams 215
FAC Q4
Sat 22 Oct
Ossett Town A 3-2 Blake, J Adams, R Adams 900
FAV 1
Sat 29 Oct
Holbeach United A 2-0 L Morgan (2) 260
FAC 1
Sat 5 Nov
Colchester United A 1-9 R Adams 3,513
BSC 3
Tue 8 Nov
Solihull Borough A* 3-2 L Morgan, Kelsall, J Adams (FT 1-1, AET) 310
MFA
Sat 12 Nov
Quorn H 1-1 Howell 621
LGC 2
Sat 26 Nov
Rocester H 4-1 R Adams, Stacey, McFarlane, Blake 364
MFA
Sat 3 Dec
Loughborough Dynamo A 0-0 223
FAV 2
Tue 6 Dec
Biddulph Victoria A 2-1 L Morgan, J Adams (pen) 86
FAV 3
Sat 10 Dec
Liversedge H 2-1 R Adams, Titterton 518
MFA
Tue 13 Dec
Stourbridge H 1-2 J Adams (pen) 350
MFA
Mon 26 Dec
Racing Club Warwick A 1-0 R Adams 1,280
MFA
Sat 31 Dec
Alvechurch H 1-1 Blake 530
MFA
Mon 2 Jan 2006
Studley A 1-3 Blake 260
MFA
Sat 7 Jan
Boldmere St Michaels H 0-0 423
MFA
Tue 10 Jan
Barwell H 1-1 McKay 309
MFA
Sat 14 Jan
Chasetown A 2-0 R Adams (2) 541
MFA
Tue 17 Jan
Malvern Town A 1-4 McKay 196
FAV 4
Sat 21 Jan
Wimborne Town H 2-3 Titterton, R Adams 746
MFA
Tue 24 Jan
Romulus H 1-1 Howell 321
MFA
Sat 28 Jan
Tipton Town H 3-0 R Adams (3) 393
MFA
Tue 31 Jan
Chasetown H 1-3 McKay 414
MFA
Sat 4 Feb
Causeway United A 3-0 Own goal, J Adams, R Adams 160
MFA
Tue 7 Feb
Cradley Town H Game abandoned due to floodlight failure while score 2-1 337
MFA
Sat 11 Feb
Romulus A 2-2 Husband (2) 215
BSCQF
Tue 14 Feb
Moor Green A 0-1 183
LGC 3
Sat 18 Feb
Coalville Town H 2-2
5P-4P
Titterton, Care
 
476
MFA
Tue 21 Feb
Stourbridge A 1-2 J Adams 201
MFA
Sat 25 Feb
Oadby Town A 3-0 Husband, Titterton, Blake 200
MFA
Tue 28 Feb
Biddulph Victoria H 5-0 Care, McKay (2), Own goal, J Adams 251
MFA
Sat 4 Mar
Stratford Town H 1-0 L Morgan 575
MFA
Tue 14 Mar
Malvern Town H 0-2 371
MFA
Sat 18 Mar
Westfields A 2-3 Husband, Blake 121
MFA
Tue 21 Mar
Rocester A 0-0 89
MFA
Sat 25 Mar
Oldbury United H 2-0 Rodman, Herlihy 409
MFA
Tue 28 Mar
Cradley Town H 4-1 Rodman, Husband, Blake, Howell 232
MFA
Sat 1 Apr
Biddulph Victoria A 1-1 J Adams 145
LGC SF1
Tue 4 Apr
Chasetown A 3-1 L Morgan, Blake, J Adams (pen) 349
MFA
Sat 8 Apr
Racing Club Warwick H 2-1 Blake, J Adams 785
LGC SF2
Tue 11 Apr
Chasetown H 0-1  (aggregate score 3-2) 520
MFA
Sat 15 Apr
Quorn A 1-1 J Adams (pen) 193
MFA
Mon 17 Apr
Westfields H 3-0 L Morgan, Cudworth, own goal 387
MFA
Thu 20 Apr
Alvechurch A 4-1 Sidwell, Blake, J Adams, Eden 187
MFA
Sat 22 Apr
Coalville Town H 2-0 Blake, L Morgan 412
MFA
Tue 25 Apr
Barwell A 4-0 Blake (2), J Adams (2) 302
MFA
Sat 29 Apr
Loughborough Dynamo H 1-3 Blake 545
LGC F
Tue 16 May
Barwell Bescot Stadium 1-3 Own goal 720
Key: MFA: Midland Football Alliance (league);
BSC: Birmingham County FA Senior Cup; FA: FA Cup; FAV: FA Vase; LGC: Midland Football Alliance League Cup.
In all cup competitions, R = Replay, Q = Qualifying round, EP = Extra Preliminary round, P = Preliminary round.
*BSC3 was drawn as a home tie for Solihull Borough but the game was played at Leamington.

The attendance of 1027 for the FA Cup Third Qualifying Round match against Woodford United on 8 October 2005 was a high for the season but did not break the record for the New Windmill Ground. The 1280 at Racing Club warwick on Boxing Day 2005 was a Polymac Services Midland Football Alliance league record attandance.

Pre-season

Comp
Date
Opposition Venue Score Scorers Crowd
F
Fri 15 July 2005
Whitnash Town N 2-1 Blake, M Thompson 85
F
Tue 19 Jul
Southam United A 3-1 J Adams, Gregory, Nicholls 150
F
Sat 23 Jul
Evesham United H 1-2 Gregory 253
F
Tue 26 Jul
Atherstone Town A 0-4   150
F
Sat 30 Jul
Bedworth United A 4-2 Howell, Blake (2), Gregory 121
F
Tue 2 Aug
Willenhall Town H 2-2 Kelsall, Howell 279
F
Sat 6 Aug
Pershore Town H 5-2 L Morgan, Hipkiss, Usher, Blake, Howell 224
LMCC
Tue 2 May 2006
Coventry City H 0-5   973
Key: F: friendly; LMCC: Royal Leamington Spa Mayor's Charity Cup

Match photos


Final league table

Pos Team Pl W D L F A GD Pts
1 Chasetown 42 29 7 6 74 32 42 94
2 Stourbridge 42 29 5 8 110 55 55 92
3 Malvern Town 42 24 4 11 95 56 39 85
4 Romulus 42 23 11 8 84 49 35 80
5 LEAMINGTON 42 21 11 10 79 44 35 74
6 Racing Club Warwick 42 22 7 13 72 55 17 73
7 Quorn 42 21 6 15 71 51 20 69
8 Coalville Town 42 21 6 15 63 60 3 69
9 Barwell 42 20 8 14 83 66 17 68
10 Boldmere St Michaels 42 17 12 13 60 48 12 63
11 Tipton Town 42 15 13 14 74 69 5 58
12 Oldbury United 42 16 10 16 58 58 0 58
13 Loughborough Dynamo 42 16 8 18 53 53 0 56
14 Alvechurch 42 16 7 19 59 64 -5 55
15 Stratford Town 42 15 6 21 49 55 -6 51
16 Studley 42 14 7 21 54 81 -27 49
17 Biddulph Victoria 42 12 9 21 55 83 -28 45
18 Oadby Town 42 10 14 18 50 64 -14 44
19 Causeway United 42 9 7 26 49 89 -40 34
20 Westfields 42 8 9 25 48 88 -40 33
21 Cradley Town 42 5 9 28 38 94 -56 24
22 Rocester 42 4 8 30 36 100 -64 20

Leamington playing squad 2005-6

Squad 2005-6

Leamington FC squad at the start of 2005-6 season,
taken at the New Windmill Ground in front of the unterraced North Bank.

Back row: Martin Thompson, Paul Nicholls, Darran Tank (Player/Assistant manager), Tom Sidwell, Steve Smith*, Paul Shepherd, Andy Harper, Rich Morris, Andy Gregory, Steve Thompson, Ryan Howell, Paul Eden, Richard Adams*, Russell Dodd*, Keith Orme (Assistant manager).
Front row: Jonny Burgess, Dave Care, Jon Adams, Leon Morgan, Jason Cadden (Manager), Ben Usher*, Josh Blake, Rob Hipkiss, Simon Walker*, Andrew Stidder*.

*left during the season

Click for a full size pic

  Appearances Goals scored  
Player Starts Sub Total MFA FAC FAV BSC PLY TAM Total

Sponsor

Ben Adams 3 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0  
Jon Adams 59 5 64 13 3 1 2 1 1 21 Louise Jones
Richard Adams 41 2 43 14 2 3 0 1 0 20 Joined Redditch United
Jim Scott
Josh Blake 57 3 60 14 3 0 0 2 0 19 Vic Shepherd
David Care 9 9 18 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 Linleigh
Jamie Coleman 1 5 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Tenpin Ltd
Andy Crabtree 12 0 12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 brakesweb.co.uk
Tom Cudworth 8 1 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 1  
Russell Dodd 3 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Joined Stourport Swifts
Paul Eden (Player/Coach) 5 15 20 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 Clintplan
Mike Feely 5 2 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0  
Adrian Fuller 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0  
Andy Gregory 20 0 20 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 North Bank
Stuart Herlihy 44 2 46 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 Mick Brady
Ryan Howell 35 20 55 6 0 0 0 0 3 9 Clintplan
James Husband 20 4 24 5 0 0 0 0 0 5 Windmill Wonderland
Kristian Kelsall 19 7 26 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 Left
Keith Cupit
Nick McFarlane 1 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 Roger Vincent
Jody McKay 22 3 25 5 0 0 0 0 0 5 Windmill Wonderland
Leon Morgan 41 8 49 5 2 3 1 1 0 12 Stan & Betty Hodgkins
Richard Morgan (Goalkeeper) 2 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Roger Vincent
Richard Morris (Goalkeeper) 40 1 41 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Changes Hair Design
Paul Nicholls 0 4 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Windmill Wonderland
Ryan Parisi 46 6 52 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Nigel Hodgkins
Alex Rodman 23 18 41 3 2 0 0 0 0 5 Sheepsiders
Paul Shepherd (Goalkeeper) 22 1 23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Rex Payne
Tom Sidwell 23 3 26 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 Clintplan
Steve Smith 9 2 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 Joined Whitnash Town
Neil Stacey 24 7 31 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 Brian Knibb
Andy Stidder 4 6 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Joined Southam United
Darran Tank (Player/Asst Manager) 36 1 37 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Maggie & Wyn Grant
Martin Thompson 18 12 30 1 0 0 2 0 0 3 Dave Ward & Chris Long
Steve Thompson (Player/Coach) 10 8 18 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Patrick Murphy
Morton Titterton 36 1 37 1 0 2 0 1 0 4 Roger Wickson
Ben Usher 5 4 9 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 Joined Alvechurch
Simon Walker 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Joined Whitnash Town
 
Own Goals       3 0 0 0 1 0 4  
Totals     64 79 12 9 6 10 5 121  
Player Starts Sub Total MFA FAC FAV BSC PLY TAM Total

Sponsor

Jason Cadden (Manager) William John Hairdressers
Keith Orme (Assistant Manager) Clintplan
Malcolm Hyland (Goalkeeping coach)  
Dean Merrick (Sports Therapist)  

Details of Leamington's 2005-6 Youth team will be added at a later date

 

Back to previous page

Pride in our past is part of the official website of Leamington Football Club